Breath

For months my breath has come erratically – particularly with any exertion. Again and again I was forced to stop as I walked up a hill no one else would notice was a hill – something someone else might call a slight incline. Climbing up the stairs at home would leave me breathing heavily and on the worst days even a bit dizzy. As I’ve learned with my many bouts of bronchitis, breathing isn’t optional, and making my way up hills that feel like mountains has been an exercise in patience and endurance.
I am so delighted to say that my breathing is better. I walked up a familiar hill recently – actually a real hill and didn’t need to sit down as I had the previous time going up that road. This means I’m really on the way to recovery.
“i thank You God for most this amazing” by e.e. cummings
i thank You God for most this amazing
day:for the leaping greenly spirits of trees
and a blue true dream of sky; and for everything
which is natural which is infinite which is yes
(i who have died am alive again today,
and this is the sun’s birthday; this is the birth
day of life and of love and wings: and of the gay
great happening illimitably earth)
how should tasting touching hearing seeing
breathing any–lifted from the no
of all nothing–human merely being
doubt unimaginable You?
(now the ears of my ears awake and
now the eyes of my eyes are opened)
I don’t know how often I’ll continue to write here, though I will update on doctor’s appointments. Silence is not bad news my friends.
Divine one – breath, just breath is enough today. Blessed be. Amen.

Published by

Alexa

I'm a UU seminarian in the process of ministerial formation. I also got cancer and my son got MS along this journey. That made things complicated

Leave a comment